When you turn AutoPass ON, it will automatically update the cut depth of a cut path with encoded depth. You will see a blue check mark in the cut depth setting in Origin’s left sidebar. When you see this icon, Origin is automatically updating your depth to any encoded depths it finds assigned to paths in your Workspace.
If you change the cut depth rather than changing the encoded depth on the selected path, AutoPass will stop automatically updating your depth. Origin will instead use your last manually entered cut depth.
If you turn AutoPass OFF and then ON again, AutoPass will revert back to automatically updating the cut depth to any encoded depths which it finds.
While AutoPass is ON, you’ll be warned before you cut any paths which do not have an encoded depth. This is to prevent you from mistakenly cutting to a depth which you did not intend. You can bypass these warnings by tapping the cut button a second time.
To avoid these warnings repeatedly appearing, add an encoded depth to the relevant path or tap the “hide warnings” button in the warning modal. Note that choosing to hide warnings will hide all pre-cut warnings—including the over-depth warning.